18.3 C
New York
Saturday, December 3, 2022

Latest Posts

NASA Astronaut and Two Cosmonauts Launching Soyuz Mission to Space Station – How To Watch Live

Soyuz MS-18 Rocket Blasts Off

The Soyuz MS-18 rocket blasted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan carrying three Expedition 65 crew members to the space station last year. Credit: NASA

NASA will provide live coverage of key events today, September 21 as a NASA astronaut and two cosmonauts launch and dock to the International Space Station (ISS). They will spend six months aboard the orbital laboratory.

NASA astronaut Frank Rubio and Roscosmos cosmonauts Sergey Prokopyev and Dmitri Petelin will launch aboard the Soyuz MS-22 spacecraft from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 9:54 a.m. EDT (6:54 a.m. PDT) Wednesday, September 21 (6:54 p.m. Baikonur time). Coverage will begin at 9 a.m. EDT (6 a.m. PDT) on NASA Television’s Public Channel, the NASA app, and on the agency’s website.

In addition, NASA will air continuous coverage of an Artemis I tanking test on NASA TV’s Media Channel beginning at 7 a.m.

NASA Astronaut Frank Rubio Preflight Checkouts Soyuz MS-22 Spacecraft

At the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, NASA astronaut Frank Rubio performs preflight checkouts in the Soyuz MS-22 spacecraft. Rubio is scheduled to launch with crewmates Roscosmos cosmonaut Sergey Prokopyev and Dmitri Petelin on September 21 for a six-month mission on the International Space Station. Credit: NASA/Victor Zelentsov

Soyuz MS-22 launch and key events as well as coverage of the Artemis I tanking test will be available to watch free online at:

After a two-orbit, three-hour journey, the Soyuz will dock to the space station’s Rassvet module at 1:11 p.m. About two hours after docking, hatches between the Soyuz and the station will open and the crew members will greet each other.

Once aboard the ISS, the trio will join Expedition 67 Commander Oleg Artemyev, cosmonauts Denis Matveev and Sergey Korsakov of Roscosmos, as well as NASA astronauts Bob Hines, Kjell Lindgren, and Jessica Watkins, and ESA (European Space Agency) astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti. Rubio, Prokopyev, and Petelin will spend six months aboard the orbital laboratory.

This will be Prokopyev’s second flight into space and the first for Rubio and Petelin.

Mission coverage is as follows (all times Eastern Time Zone):

Wednesday, September 21

  • 9 a.m. – Coverage begins on NASA TV’s Public Channel for 9:54 a.m. launch.
  • 12:15 p.m. – Coverage begins on NASA TV’s Public Channel for 1:11 p.m. docking.
  • 3:30 p.m. – Coverage begins on NASA TV for hatch opening and welcome remarks.

Source link

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

news digest

Get updates on todays breaking news and special announcements.